信托纠纷

仲裁和调解为解决信托纠纷提供了一种高效、有效和私密的方式
联系我们

信托纠纷的仲裁或调解可以帮助当事人避免在法院公开诉讼。诉讼对争议各方来说不仅是一个昂贵的选择,而且有可能允许披露对各方来说固有的个人事务。这可能包括个人信息以及财务和其他商业事项,否则将保持机密。

NZDRC已经为有关信托的纠纷当事人开发了一种专业的私人纠纷解决服务,这种服务是稳健和确定的,但在及时和私下解决这些具有挑战性的纠纷类型的常识性方法方面具有创新性。

可供选择的三种方式是 仲裁, 调解和一种混合程序--仲裁-医疗 仲裁-医疗.

有什么新鲜事?

新的《2019年信托法》(法案)于2021年1月30日开始生效。它给信托法带来了一些重大变化,是70年来的第一次重大改革。该法适用于现有和未来的家庭信托、交易信托和根据遗嘱设立的信托。

该法最重要的发展之一是明确规定了ADR程序,以解决内部(受托人和/或受益人之间)以及涉及受托人和一个或多个第三方的外部信托纠纷。该法将ADR程序定义为 ,旨在促进问题解决的替代性纠纷解决程序(例如,调解或仲裁) 在该法出台之前,人们普遍认为,与信托有关的纠纷无法通过调解或仲裁解决,因为信托的许多受益人是全权委托的,不确定的,或缺乏能力,因此他们的利益无法得到保障或考虑。总而言之,在该法中明确规定和促进使用ADR的举措,按全球标准来说是一个分水岭。

示范条款

NZDRC建议合同各方包括示范仲裁和调解条款,以确保他们之间一旦出现争议,可以毫不拖延地将这些程序作为首选的争议解决方式。

根据NZDRC仲裁规则进行仲裁的示范条款

当事人希望根据新西兰争议解决中心的仲裁规则,通过仲裁解决未来的任何争议时,应在合同中加入以下仲裁条款:

"受托人与一个或多个受益人,或受托人与一个或多个其他受托人之间产生的与信托有关的任何争议或分歧,但不包括关于全部或部分信托有效性的任何争议,应根据新西兰争议解决中心的仲裁规则提交并最终通过仲裁解决。"

根据NZDRC调解规则进行调解的示范条款

如果各方希望根据新西兰争端解决中心的调解规则,通过调解解决未来的任何争端,则应在合同中加入以下调解条款:

"受托人与一个或多个受益人,或受托人与一个或多个其他受托人之间产生的与信托有关的任何争议或分歧,但不包括有关全部或部分信托有效性的任何争议,应根据新西兰争议解决中心的调解规则提交并最终解决。"

估计新西兰的信托数量

2019年《信托法》:把它留在家里

作者:玛丽亚-科尔* 没有人喜欢把自己的脏衣服公之于众。可悲的是,在家庭信托和遗产纠纷中,当事人发现他们的私人家庭事务被公开,并成为法律杂志文章和八卦的话题,这太常见了。

2019年《信托法》下的替代性纠纷解决方案--缺位?

作者:约翰-格林 新的《2019年信托法》(法案)于2021年1月30日生效。它给信托法带来了许多重大变化,是70年来的第一次重大改革。该法适用于现有和未来的家族信托、交易信托和信托...

2019年信托法》:你需要知道的内容

作者:Melissa Perkin和Melt Strydom 引言 虽然确切数字不详,但估计新西兰有数十万个信托。新的《2019年信托法》于2021年1月30日开始生效。它给信托带来了许多重大变化。
跳到内容

18 August 2021 | IMPORTANT NOTICE

x

In line with Ministry of Health guidance, our staff are currently working remotely. They remain available to assist and it is business as usual. However, we ask that wherever possible you contact us online or by email to registrar@nzdrc.co.nz.

If you need to courier documents, please contact our Registry staff in the first instance to confirm the appropriate delivery details.

He waka eke noa.

Trust Disputes

ARBITRATION AND MEDIATION PROVIDE AN EFFICIENT, EFFECTIVE, AND PRIVATE WAY TO RESOLVE TRUST DISPUTES
Contact Us

The arbitration or mediation of trust disputes can help parties to avoid publicly litigating their dispute in the courts. Litigation is not only an expensive option for disputing parties but is likely to allow the disclosure of matters which are inherently personal to the parties. This can include personal information as well as financial and other commercial matters which would otherwise remain confidential.

The NZDRC has developed a specialist private dispute resolution service for parties to disputes concerning trusts that is robust and certain, yet innovative in its commonsense approach to resolving these challenging types of disputes promptly and privately.

The three options available are Arbitration, Mediation, and a hybrid process – Arb-Med.

What’s New?

The new Trusts Act 2019 (Act) came into force on 30 January 2021. It brings a number of significant changes to trust law and is the first major reform in 70 years. The Act applies to existing and future family trusts, trading trusts and trusts created under wills.

One of the most significant developments in the Act is the express provision for ADR processes to resolve both internal (between trustees and/or beneficiaries) and external trust disputes involving a trustee and one or more third parties. An ADR process is defined in the Act as an alternative dispute resolution process (for example, mediation or arbitration) designed to facilitate the resolution of a matter. Prior to the Act, it was generally considered that disputes relating to trusts were not capable of resolution through mediation or arbitration because many beneficiaries of trusts were discretionary, unascertained, or lacking capacity and therefore their interests could not be safeguarded or considered. In sum, the move to expressly provide for and promote the use of ADR in the Act has been a watershed moment by global standards.

Model Clause

NZDRC recommends parties to contracts include model arbitration and mediation clauses to ensure they can access these processes as a dispute resolution option of choice without delay should a dispute arise between them.

Model Clause for Arbitration under the NZDRC Arbitration Rules

The following arbitration clause should be included in contracts where the parties wish to have any future disputes resolved by arbitration under the New Zealand Dispute Resolution Centre’s Arbitration Rules:

“Any dispute or difference arising in relation to the trust between a trustee and one or more beneficiaries, or a trustee and one or more other trustees, but excluding any dispute about the validity of all or part of the trust, shall be referred to and finally resolved by arbitration in accordance with the Arbitration Rules of the New Zealand Dispute Resolution Centre.”

Model Clause for Mediation under the NZDRC Mediation Rules

The following mediation clause should be included in contracts where the parties wish to have any future disputes resolved by mediation under the New Zealand Dispute Resolution Centre’s Mediation Rules:

“Any dispute or difference arising in relation to the trust between a trustee and one or more beneficiaries, or a trustee and one or more other trustees, but excluding any dispute about the validity of all or part of the trust, shall be referred to and finally resolved by mediation in accordance with the Mediation Rules of the New Zealand Dispute Resolution Centre.”

estimated number of trusts in New Zealand

The Trusts Act 2019: keeping it in the family

By Maria Cole* No-one likes to have their dirty laundry aired in public. Sadly, it has been all too common for parties in family trust and estate disputes, to find their private family affairs made public and become the topic of law journal articles and gossip at...

Alternative Dispute Resolution under the Trusts Act 2019 – missing in action?

By John Green   The new Trusts Act 2019 (Act) came into force on 30 January 2021. It brings a number of significant changes to trust law and is the first major reform in 70 years. The Act applies to existing and future family trusts, trading trusts and trusts...

The Trusts Act 2019: What you need to know

By Melissa Perkin and Melt Strydom Introduction Although exact numbers are unknown, it is estimated there are hundreds of thousands of trusts in New Zealand. The new Trusts Act 2019 came into force on 30 January 2021. It brings a number of significant changes to trust...